About UET

“University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore is the most current name of this institute of higher learning that started in 1921 as the Mughalpura Technical College. It has almost a 100-years old history of producing technical experts of highest standard. In 1923, its name was changed to Maclagan Engineering College and got affiliated with Punjab University in 1932. It became a university in 1961 and the duration of the undergraduate degree programs was changed from three years to four years keeping in line with the changes taking place in many parts of the world. As of 2015, UET Lahore has eight Faculties, 24 departments and about 9,000 students. There are approximately 750 faculty members in the areas of engineering, business management, natural sciences, social sciences and philosophy. The university offers programs leading to B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees.

In addition to the main campus in Lahore, it has several other campuses including Kala Shah Kaku, Gujranwala, Faisalabad, Narowal and Multan. Currently four universities are also affiliated with UET. These are Khawaja Fareed University of Engineering & Information Technology, Rahim Yar Khan, Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif University of Engineering & Technology, Multan and University of Engineering & Technology, Rasul at Mandi Bahauddin District.

UET is one of the best and one of the oldest engineering schools in Asia. It was the first school in Asia to start M.Sc. in Computer Science in 1978. It has constantly improved in its world ranking among the engineering schools in the world. Its graduates have moved on to become world leaders in all walks of life. Among its alumni, one can find the most innovative and creative engineers, world-renowned professors in the best universities of the world, business leaders, top technocrats and bureaucrats, heads of multinational corporations, political leaders and even famous artists. The UET has made immense contributions to the growth of individuals and the country Visit UET website